Sustainable Development Goals

Voices around the world are demanding leadership on poverty, inequality and climate change. To turn these demands into actions, world leaders gathered on 25 September 2015 at the United Nations in New York to adopt the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, providing a comprehensive agenda for global action from 2016 to 2030.


The Goals and targets will stimulate action over the next 15 years in areas of critical importance for humanity and the planet: The 2030 Agenda comprises 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) with 169 targets, which will guide policy and funding for the next 15 years, beginning with a historic pledge to end poverty. Everywhere. Permanently.

Credits: Infographic SDG targets by Mike Peleah


The Sustainable Development Goals are also known as the Global Goals and build on the eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) that the world committed to achieving between 2000 and 2015. The enormous progress made globally on the MDGs showed the value of a unifying agenda with clear goals and targets but more is to be done to end the indignity of poverty for all.


The Global Goals include:

5 elements of Sustainable Development


1.    Poverty - End poverty in all its forms everywhere

2.    Food - End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture

3.    Health - Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages

4.    Education - Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all

5.    Women - Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls

6.    Water - Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all

7.    Energy - Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all

8.    Economy - Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all

9.    Infrastructure - Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation

10.    Inequality - Reduce inequality within and among countries

11.    Habitation - Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable

12.    Consumption - Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns

13.    Climate - Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts

14.    Marine-ecosystems - Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development

15.    Ecosystems - Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss

16.    Institutions - Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels

17.    Sustainability - Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development